Do you ever feel like Moses?

“Moses said to the Lord, ‘Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.’ The Lord said to him, ‘Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.’ But Moses said, ‘Pardon your servant, Lord. Please send someone else.’ Then the Lord’s anger burned against Moses and he said, ‘What about your brother, Aaron the Levite? I know he can speak well. he is already on his way to meet you, and he will be glad to see you. You shall speak to him and put words in his mouth; I will help both of you speak and will teach you what to do. He will speak to the people for you, and it will be as if he were your mouth and as if you were God to him. But take this staff in your hand so you can perform the signs with it.'”

–Exodus 4: 10-17 (NIV)

Lately, I’ve been really struggling with God’s purpose for my life. I have been feeling inadequate for what I feel is the calling God has laid on my heart. It’s been tough. I’ve questioned God in ways that I never have before, and I’ve even gotten a little angry with him.

I couldn’t understand why God would call me to do something, but make the path to reach it so incredibly difficult.

In the middle of my immense frustration, I started to refocus on God. The first place he led me was to Exodus 4: 10-17. I related to Moses in some big ways, and it opened my eyes and my heart.

God began showing me that there are things in this world that are bigger than my self-doubt. If he is calling me to do something, I have to look beyond myself. I have to look at the bigger picture and trust him. I’m learning that I need to stop letting my own insecurities get in the way of what I know God is calling me to do.

Sometimes, I feel like Moses; I feel like I’m not good enough and that there is someone else that is better for the job.

Then, I remember Moses; I remember all that God was able to accomplish through a man full of self doubt.

If God can work through Moses, then I know that he can work through me.

 

The path that God is leading you down may not be an easy one. You may face adversities from within yourself as well as from other people. However, that does not mean that the direction you feel called isn’t for you. Trust God and his plan.

Remember: It doesn’t matter how incapable you are, because God is capable of anything.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

