The Day Before Jaw Surgery

As I’ve been prepping for jaw surgery, I’ve realized that there aren’t a whole lot of people that have been through what I’m about to go through in less than four hours. With this realization, I decided to share my jaw surgery journey with everyone.

 

I have been in braces since November of 2013. My orthodontist told me that jaw surgery would have to happen in order to correct my bite which, at the time, was much more worse than it is now (I only had two teeth in my entire mouth that touched). Being in braces has definitely helped my bite considerably (I now have more than two teeth that touch! Yay!), but it is still no where near where it needs to be. The surgery will help correct my bite by widening my upper jaw, and then moving my lower jaw over and back. Then, I will have to be in braces for another 6-9 months.

I’m not going to lie, I hate that I have to get this done. It’s already been a very frustrating journey, and even though I know it will be worth it, I sometimes wish I had just been born with perfect teeth. If I don’t get the surgery done, I’m looking at a lot of issues in my future, so I know this needs to happen.

 

Biggest Pre-Surgery Fears:

  • Having something go horribly wrong during surgery
    • Okay, so I have already had three surgeries. My first one was a knee surgery, my second was wisdom teeth removal, and my third was an appendectomy. Not a single thing went wrong in any of these surgeries, and I know my surgeon is perfectly qualified to do this job and do it well. However, I’m still super worried that something is going to go horribly wrong. I’m trying to just give my fears to God and remember that He is in control.
  • Waking up with a different face
    • This seems so silly, I know. The thing is, my surgeon warned me that I might look a little different. My brain translated this as: “You’re going to wake up looking like a completely different person and no one is going to recognize you, not even your own family.” It’s completely absurd, but it’s still my fear!
  • What if I’m only able to eat soft foods for the rest of my life?!
    • I LOVE food. I eat ALL THE TIME. My favorite time of the day is meal time. I know I’m going to eat like a normal human being after a time, but this is where my first fear comes back into play again. What if something goes horribly wrong during surgery and I’m only able to eat soft foods for the rest of my life. No more popcorn, no more cheeseburgers, no more fried chicken, no more watermelon, no more chips, no more snickers bars,  no more of any of those delicious foods that require lots of chewing. This fear is completely unwarranted, but it still exists.

Those are my main fears going into this. I hope that anyone who comes across this post, freaking out before their jaw surgery, will read this and know that they are not alone in their fears. Yes, your fears may seem completely absurd, but that’s okay. It’s okay to be scared.

IMG_8679This is me! As you can see, I’m super pumped to be leaving in less than four hours!

I have to leave at 3:30 AM to get to the hospital by 5:30 AM. Yay for the hospital being two hours away!

With that, I am going to try to get some sleep. I love you, dear readers, and I hope this post brings you comfort.

 

-Savanna

One thought on “The Day Before Jaw Surgery

  1. I hope your surgery went well and I pray for a smooth and speedy recovery! I’m about to have jaw surgery (just waiting for a call with the date!) as well and I have your exact same fears. I’m not sure if anyone could go into this kind of surgery without at least some fears.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

