Day 5: Slowly Adjusting

Today marks five days post-op of my upper and lower jaw surgery. Yay! 

Day 4 Recap:

So, day four was absolutely terrible. I broke down twice, and I don’t typically let my emotions get the best of me. I think part of it was lack of food. Also, I think my new reality had finally hit me. I had an overwhelming desire for everything to be normal again. 

I gave myself a good kick later that day. I realized that this is normal. I realized that I’m going to be struggling and my life is going to be full of adjusting for quite some time. 

I’m so incredibly thankful for both of my parents. They were right by my side the entire day and did everything in their power to make me feel better. They’ve been beyond incredible since the surgery, and before it as well. 

Day Five:

I’m slowly adjusting. I’m tired of milkshakes, smoothies, and soups, but I’m making myself eat them because I know I need the food in order to heal. I’m still anxiously awaiting the day when I can move away from the liquid diet, but I’m no longer letting my food ruin my day. 


My blank expressions make me laugh, but I didn’t know what else to do. 😅
According to my parents, I look just about normal. Apparently, my swelling has gone down a considerable amount. My cheeks are still a little puffy, but I’m looking good! 

From the side view, I feel like my upper jaw is much farther forward than it should be. I’m not sure why that is. I think it’s because I have a splint, and part of it is wrapped around my front teeth. I think it’s causing my lip to protrude farther forward than it actually is, causing my upper jaw to look like it is extremely far forward. I’ll make sure to ask my surgeon when I see him on July 20th. 😊
Positives:

  • I’m drinking everything from a cup. I have found that this is the easiest way for me to do things. I’m so happy I’m done with those awful syringes! 
  • I didn’t take a nap today! I noticed I have a lot more energy than I did the previous days. I’m still doing quite a bit of lazing around, but I don’t feel as thoroughly exhausted as I did. 

Negatives:

  • I really miss normal food. I’m trying to move away from thinking about it, but there are so many food commercials on television these days! 
  • I can’t drink from a straw, and I’m not sure why that is. I’ll have to ask my surgeon. 
  • I’m really struggling with my breathing. I had a deviated septum, which my jaw surgeon corrected during surgery. He warned me I would be stuffy, but I didn’t realize just how stuffy I would be! 
  • I have a splint in the roof of my mouth and it wraps around my front teeth as well. It gets in the way of EVERYTHING and is beyond obnoxious. I believe I have to have it in for three weeks, but I’ll check with my jaw surgeon when I see him. 

    I’m slowly adjusting, but I think I’m making good progress, especially mentally. It’s hard to not let my limitations bring me down, but I’m trying to focus on the positive future and take it one day at a time. 
    -Savanna 

    Leave a Reply

    