Day 8: Saying Goodbye to the Liquid Diet 

I saw my jaw surgeon today for my one week post-op appointment, and he gave me the all clear to move to soft foods! This is two weeks earlier than I expected, so I’m ridiculously excited! I’m allowed to eat foods like scrambled eggs, mashed potatoes, and pasta. My surgeon also said that I’m healing extremely well, and that everything looks exactly how it should! I know I have a long way to go before the end result, but I already can’t wait to see what I’m going to look like once my braces are off and I’m fully healed. Unfortunately, I don’t get this annoying splint off until August 8th. However, I thought I would be on a liquid diet until my splint came off, so the splint is slightly easier to bear now! I’m a music therapy major in college, and my primary instrument is the violin. Not being able to play my instrument has been extremely difficult for me this past week, but my surgeon told me that I could play as long as I didn’t experience pain. I’ll probably still give myself another week of rest before I try, but I’m very happy that I can technically play again whenever I want.
Week One was definitely a struggle, but I have a feeling this week will be a quite a bit better. I’ll let you know! 😊
-Savanna

Leave a Reply

